The present George Hotel, Inveraray, was originally two private houses completed in 1770. They were part of a project by the 3rd Duke of Argyll, started in 1744, to build a whole new town in Inveraray. In 1776 the 5th Duke of Argyll ordered that the ground floor flat of each of these private houses would be made into temporary churches for the Gaelic and English speaking congregations. These two churches are now covered by the Public Bar, Front Lounge and Church Hall. How the times have changed! In 1860 the two private houses were amalgamated into the George Hotel by the Clark family, in whose possession the hotel still remains.
Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. The Duke of Argyll employed the services of Adam and Milne, renowned architects of their time. Together they built the first planned town in Scotland, Inveraray.
Reviews and Ratings
We do not have any reviews about George Hotel available right now.